Executive Committee

Team Image
Enrico Ferro


Avocado Farmer, Pest Control Adviser

Team Image
Pierre Sleiman

1st Vice President

Go Green Agriculture

Team Image
Mary Matava

2nd Vice President


Team Image
Christina Smith


The Farm Smith

Team Image
Janet Kister


Sunlet Nursery

Team Image
Neil Nagata

Immediate Past President

Nagata Bros Farms

It has been said many times,

“You get more out of volunteering at Farm Bureau than you put in.”

Board Of Directors Listing

San Diego County Farm Bureau has the following permanent committees working together for the common good:

  • Scholarships – fund-raising for and granting scholarships to college students from San Diego County who are majoring in agricultural subjects.
  • Membership – seeking new members and assuring the Farm Bureau is serving its membership.
  • Ag in the Classroom – working with students and teachers to understand the importance of agriculture in their lives through classroom instruction and in school gardens.
  • Young Farmers & Ranchers – reaching those in the agriculture community between the ages of 18 and 35.
  • Scholarship Golf Tournament – planning and helping with the annual day of golf and fun to raise funds for the Farm Bureau and Scholarships.
  • San Diego Farm & Nursery Expo – assisting the organization of Southern California’s only Farm and Nursery trade show.
  • Pest Task Forces – working with agencies and producers on specific pest issues: Asian Citrus Psyllid (ACP) and Light Brown Apple Moth (LBAM).
  • Land Use – considering and navigating policies and regulations affecting land use for San Diego.
  • Labor – working on labor supply and regulatory issues.
  • Cannabis – a working group advocating for allowing commercial cultivation.
  • Friends of Farming – overseeing programs linking members of the community with local farming.

Now is the time to jump in and join a committee.
Call the San Diego County Farm Bureau at (760) 745-3023 to learn more.